What was the first science fiction/fantasy book that you read? And who bought it for you?

The first science fiction book I read was Ray Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles when I was 13-years-old. I immediately checked out The Martian Chronicles book at the Public library after seeing the miniseries on television in 1980. I read my first fantasy book, The Sword of Shannara, two years later when I was in 10th grade.

Ask me anything

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “What was the first science fiction/fantasy book that you read? And who bought it for you?

  1. I read Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein when I was in third grade and they allowed us “redbird” readers to pick books from the fiction room in the library. It changed my life. It was ~1959, and I was reading Heinlein, Asimov, Bradbury and Alcott, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anna Sewell–1950s boys books and 1880s girls books. That accounts for a lot. That’s why I am a writer of fractured fairy tales.

Leave a Reply

