My dad, the fighter

It’s 3:47 am and I just got home.  My dad, Patrick Michael Gallagher, passed away Tuesday night at 11:35 pm at Duke hospital.  He was only 65-years-old.  Dad was admitted this morning after his left lung had collapsed.  From what I understand, this was caused by a growing tumor in the lung which caused the lung to fill with liquid and create a blockage in the bronchial tube.   The tumor and the rest of this mess is the result of Renal cell carcinoma (RCC).   He has been fighting this disease and its effects for 6 years.

My dad was unconscious when I arrived at the hospital around 6:30 pm.   Fluid had begun filling his right lung and his breathing was really labored even on 100% oxygen.  Our family decided not to pursue any more treatments or operations on account of it causing more pain.  He did not suffer and had plenty of medication to prevent any pain.

Funeral arrangements will be decided on tomorrow with visitation at Poole Funeral Home in Knightdale, NC sometime this week.  An obituary should appear Thursday in the Raleigh News & Observer and the Wilmington Star News.  A burial will be in Wilmington, NC.

My dad was a brave fighter all the way to his last breath with my mom, sister, and me by his side.  I’ll miss him so much.  I love you dad.

One thought on “My dad, the fighter

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. My family and myself are thinking of you guys in this rough time.

    If there’s anything those of us who are at a distance can do, please don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

