My 42nd Birthday

I had a good day.  This morning I enjoyed Eggo Buttermilk Waffles with my two boys.  After taking the boys to school around 7:20 am, I came home and read the newspaper and then read the news on the internet.  At the same time, I enjoyed my prerequisite two cups of coffee with 2 tablespoons of sugar and liquid Coffee-Mate creamer.  Yum.

I ordered a Domino’s pizza around 11:30 am from their website.  I got my most favorite Domino’s pizza the Pacific Veggie Pizza.  The ingredients are roasted red peppers, spinach, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes and black olives with feta, mozzarella and provolone cheeses on a cheesy Parmesan crust. Oh my God!  Heaven.  The pizza arrived right before noon.  It was funny because the pizza delivery lady looked at the price and of the pizza and said to me, “Honey, did you order this on the computer?”  “Yes”, I replied.  “Well, you can get it much cheaper if you just call us.”  Thanks for the tip!

My wife came home early from work around 12:15 pm to have lunch and spend some alone time with me, if you know what I mean!  😉  The kids got home from school at 2:30 pm.  Getting them to do homework was a big thing, but they did it.  After I printed out my e-mail coupons for a free gourmet burger at Red Robin and a free ice cream at Stone Cold Creamery, we then loaded the van.

First stop, Red Robin.  We got to the restaurant around 4:30 pm.  Hardly anyone was in the place!  I ordered the Towering Onion Rings for an appetizer.  My free burger choice was the Blackened Bayou Burger.  The burger was good, but it had too much Creole mustard sauce.  I ended up taking the burger out of the bun and eating it.

Chris Gallagher and his boys at Red Robin

Garrett (left), Chris (center), and Liam (left).

Pondering the next 42 years

Next stop, Cold Stone Creamery at the Friendly Shopping Center.  After talking to two college dudes standing out front of the Caribou Coffee store next door about Transformers, I went into Cold Stone and ordered a vanilla ice cream with Butterfinger candy.  Liam ordered cinnamon ice cream with chocolate chips and Garrett ordered peanut butter ice cream with Reese’s pieces.  I ended up eating the rest of their ice cream.  No problem!

Coldstone Birthday Treat

I ended up eating Liam's (left) and Garrett's (right) ice cream.

After the ice cream treat, we headed over to Barnes & Noble bookstore.  I really never go inside a bookstore anymore since I go to the public library all the time.  I only wanted to go buy a USA Today.  I love that paper!  We ended up walking out with a book for everyone, except me.  I only got a paper.

Carolyn and Chris On His 42 Birthday

Carolyn my wife and best friend. I looked confused because my son Garrett was trying to take the picture.

We then headed home and the boys had a few presents they helped their mom wrap waiting for me.  They made the wrapping paper!

Homemade wrapping paper!

Garrett's homemade wrapping paper!

Liam's homemade wrapping paper.

Liam's homemade wrapping paper!

Garrett gave me a Captain Kirk figure from the new movie Star Trek.  Liam gave me a Spock bobble head.  Carolyn gave me an Australian walk-about hat to help keep the sun out of my face when I cut the grass.

I got a Spock bobble head, Captain Kirk figure, and an Australian walkabout hat

I got a Spock bobble head, Captain Kirk figure, and an Australian walkabout hat

It was a good day!

2 thoughts on “My 42nd Birthday

Leave a Reply

