WWE SmackDown House Show in Greensboro, NC

I love wrestling.  Not the real Greco-Roman wrestling, but the sports entertainment WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) stuff.  I remember as a kid in the 1970’s switching the cable channels to watch these true to life comic book-like characters beat up each other on TBS the Superstation as broadcast from Atlanta, GA.  I never became obsessed with wrestling.  It just was a guilty pleasure that I would watch from time to time.  My favorite guy was the Junkyard Dog.

Now fast forward to 1999.  I was working as a technical writer at American Express in Greensboro, NC.  I meet a crazy developer in my department named Kevin Marshall who also loves wrestling.  He invites me to go see the King of the Ring pay-per-view event at the Greensboro Coliseum.  That’s all it took.  I instantly got hooked again.  Now, I make a point to always go see a WWE show whenever one comes to Greensboro or even Raleigh.  I even drag my wife and kids with me.  I like it so much that I own over 100 shares of WWE stock in my Roth retirement account.  The stock pays really nice dividends that are reinvested.  I also have a single share of WWE stock framed and hanging on my office wall.  It has both Linda and Vincent McMahon signatures on it.  Really cool!

I love this!

I love this!

The past Saturday (12/27/08), I took my two boys (Liam and Garrett) and their neighbor friend (Kyle) with me to a WWE SmackDown House Show.  House Shows usually test out matches before they appear on television.  For example, MVP wrestled the brand new WWE superstar named Kizarny when we were at the coliseum.  Kizarny won.  Tonight, on the televised version of SmackDown, the exact same matchup was shown and the same outcome ocurrred.  MVP lost.  I even believe Kizarny’s first appearance was in Greensboro, but I might be wrong.  My kids were confused at first when we sat down because the coliseum was basically bare bones with only a wrestling ring and a few lights.  However, once the show started, they didn’t care.  We were sitting really close to the ring.  It was so much fun!

The video below shows Tripe H going at it against the Russian Bear Vladimir Kozlov.  Wow!

The photo below shows the beginning of the Main Event of the evening.  Big Show vs Undertaker!

Undertaker faces off with Big Show in Greensboro, NC

2 thoughts on “WWE SmackDown House Show in Greensboro, NC

  1. Looks like it was a great show!!! Where the heck did you get the framed WWE Stock certificate? I saw them a few years back but forget where it was, I’d love to pick one up for my husband for a Christmas gift.

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « Thoughtbeast

Leave a Reply

