Bringing in the New Year by picking up trash with a head cold

I’ve had to tolerate a nasal cold ever since this past Monday.  Along with a sore throat from nasal drainage, I’m groggy and tired feeling all the time.  This is not a good thing when you’re trying to keep up with two little boys (ages 7 and 9).

I got up as usual with the wife at 6:00 am and made her coffee.  After my oldest son (Liam) came downstairs and she left for work, I took some Tylenol Severe Cold tablets and went back to bed at 7:30 am.  I slept for about an hour.  Liam woke me up and had breakfast ready for me!  He fixed me two toaster strudels, cut a banana in two halves (uh oh, he messed with the knife!), and had my coffee sitting at the table.  Good kid!  Garrett was also downstairs playing his PSP in his underwear.  I poured him a bowl of chocolate Cap’n Crunch.  Ugh.

While I was eating, I notice the wind was awfully strong outside.  I found out we are having gusts of up to 40 mph!  Today is also trash day.  You know what that means?  The neighbor’s trash cans are overturning because of the winds.  The city of Greensboro gives us big, green, square-like plastic cans with a lid that flips up and over.  When the winds are strong, and if people don’t have their trash cans closed because they overfilled them, the lids will act like the sail on a boat by catching the wind gusts and knocking the cans to the ground.  As a result, I saw all kinds of trash blowing around in my backyard and in the cul-de-sac out front.

I asked both of my children, when they go outside today, to get garbage bag and pick up some of the trash outside.  They both immediately told me no!  I basically heard both of them say, “It’s not our trash.  Why do the neighbors have to let their trash cans turn over?”  That made me so mad.  I don’t ask them to do that much.  I then got dressed and went outside and proceeded outside to pick up a lot of runaway garbage such as Christmas paper, cardboard boxes, milk jugs, campaign signs (where did they come from?), and lots of Styrofoam.  Liam started to cry because he knew I was mad.  He stood on the front porch and insisted he wanted to pick up the trash.  I said no.

What a morning!  I still have to take a shower, make the beds, take some more medicine, and, later today, pick up some more trash outside.  It sure is windy.

One thought on “Bringing in the New Year by picking up trash with a head cold

Leave a Reply

