My thoughts about the 2008 election

I recieved an email from a relative who wrote that I am a bigger person than they are in my new found support for Barack Obama.  They just can’t seem to do the same.  Now, I’m not jumping into the Obama tank with everyone else.  I’m rooting for the guy, but I still have my concerns, doubts, and, most of all, disappointment to deal with.

This is my response:

So I guess you’re saying I should not put an Obama t-shirt in your Christmas basket this year? I’m kidding. I just think harboring bad feelings will not accomplish anything. Yes, McCain should have won. He was the strongest candidate, but I really feel the Democrats wanted it more. The Republicans just dropped the ball.

During the next four years, the Republicans will gather their troops, analyze what went wrong, and will come back mean, lean and ready to fight. At this point, if I had to pick someone, I think Mitt Romney will be their guy. I love Sarah Palin, but I don’t think she’ll be the nominee in 2012 unless she accomplishes some great stuff during the rest of term as governor of Alaska. Which is sad. Why should Palin have to prove herself when she has already accomplished so much? Obama didn’t do anything great to become the 44th President. What are his qualifications that helped him win? He gave a great speech during the Democratic convention in 2004, opposed the Iraq war when it wasn’t cool to do so and, I hate to say this, he is black. I bet over half the country voted for Obama because of the color of his skin. People wanted to make history in their lifetime by electing a black President.

Obama has four years to fix the economy, win the war in Iraq and Afghanistan, find Bin Laden, fix the health care system, create new jobs, and ween us off foreign oil without drilling here in our own country. A lot of stuff to do. I’ll be surprised if he gets any of these things done. I will not say I don’t think he will be able to do it, because I want him to do all these things. It would be great.

I predict the people who voted for Obama will start to turn on him over time when their lives are not immediately improved. We are an impatient “want it now” society who loves material things. Remember, it is the sitting President who is blamed for the woes in our society. Fingers will point at Obama. The press will also turn on him since they love to build someone up and then knock them down for a good story.

2012 will be another important election. The Republicans will come back strong. I can’t wait!

Final thought:

“May be the rich get richer and the poor get poorer and the middle class get taxed to death!” This quote was sent to me by the same relative in another email.  So true.

Just remember, McCain was in the lead and it looked like he could win before the economic crisis hit us.  I’m willing to bet a large part of McCain’s loss is because a lot of Republicans got scared and jumped ship to support Obama.  No matter what many analysts may say, Sarah Palin did not cause McCain to loose.  That just burns me up when I hear or read that old line.

Leave a Reply

