First Presidential Debate

I thought tonight’s debate was really good.  It was especially great for McCain.  A lot of talking heads at the news channels had McCain written off because of the financial nightmare this past week.  McCain delivered his argument with focus and intelligence.  Overall, both candidates did well, but I think McCain did better.  McCain excelled when the debate was focused on foreign policy.  Obama did better when the subject was more broad such as the discussion on energy.  I also thought Obama did do a good job standing his ground, even when McCain seemed to get under his skin.

How do you properly give a score to each candidate and determine a winner?  You really can’t.  The news channels and papers will show the results of their focus groups, but how do we know the people in these focus groups are really undecided voters?  I am watching CNN right now and their focus group seems to show Obama as the winner.  I don’t think so.  I tend to think the people in these polls really didn’t listen to what was said in the debates.  They are still voting based on popularity.

Some things I noticed that each candidate needs to work on:

McCain needs to stop constantly mentioning, “I didn’t win Miss Congeniality in the United States Senate.”

Obama has to work on stumbling his words and interrupting McCain such as when he said, “That’s not true, John. That’s not true.”

Best soundbite was from McCain:

“I looked into Mr. Putin’s eyes, and I saw three letters, a “K,” a “G,” and a “B.” “

Leave a Reply

