McCain and Palin are what we really need

The country needs to move in a better direction and I think McCain and Palin are the people for the job. Obama followers can’t image he can lose.  Obama himself is most likely flabbergasted at the sudden rise of Palin in a matter of weeks.  He is trailing in the polls for the first time.  His face is no longer the one of all the magazine covers.  Obamamanics, as I call them, have been assuming all along he will walk straight to the White House.  Some people I know get mad at the thought of McCain and Palin winning.  They are confused and upset.

I was disappointed Hillary did not win the Democratic nomination and I was again let down when Obama chose Biden, instead of Hillary, as his VP candidate.  I took it hard.  I put a McCain bumper sticker on my van as a direct result of my disappointment.  However, my wife, Carolyn, made me take it off.  I’ve always liked McCain’s independent nature, but my interest with his campaign took a different turn when he chose Gov. Sarah Palin as his VP candidate.

My enthusiasm for Hillary and now Palin is not based on popularity as suggested by a few folks I know.  It is based experience and strength.  The experience issue is important to me.  I firmly believe it’s not what you say, but what you have done.  Yes, Hillary was my candidate because she is more experienced, knowledgeable, and, most of all, tough.

Speaking of Hillary, I do find it hard to forget the things she and Bill said about Obama during their campaign runs through the Triad.  Hey, that politics. I know it is part of the game.  I also know it is a political move on the Republicans part to attract Hillary voters.  It’s just hard to ignore what they said and believe Bill really meant all the positive things he said about Obama during his speech.  It’s silly.  I know.

When I campaigned for Hillary at my local voting place, I saw and heard a lot of negative stuff from the Obama campaigners that made me mad.  I also discovered a lot of folks were voting for Obama, not because of the issues, but because of his rock star image and, to some degree, the color of his skin.  I felt kind of like I was doing a bad thing holding that Hillary sign.  Now and again, I would get voters, black and white, walk by and give me a slight nod or quick thumbs up like they were afraid to show their enthusiasm for the person they just voted on.  Not fair.  So, I guess you can say both of the Presidential campaigns this year will, to some degree, be decided by popularity.

I can logically hate the Bush administration and love the McCain-Palin ticket at the same time.  As suggested by McCain’s rise in the polls, I’m not the only one who thinks like I do.  I believe McCain does not want to follow the same road Bush has walked on.  McCain does want to end this war like Obama; however, he wants to win it and plans to do so.  His goal is to have the troops out of Iraq by 2013.  Afghanistan is another story.  Both McCain and Obama see Afghanistan as a major focus.  I just think McCain can do a better job.

I love John McCain’s choice of Sarah Palin as his Vice President.  It intrigues me.  Palin is not a product of  Washington bureaucracy and she brings fresh ideas to the political table.  Believe it or not, she is good thing for Obama because it will force both he and Biden to fight harder and become stronger political candidates.  We’ll just have to wait and see if her star quickly fades after she begins the one on one interviews with the media and how she handles the upcoming VP debate.  If McCain loses the election, I would not be surprised if Palin runs against Obama in the 2012 Presidential election.

Hmmm.  It seems there is pattern here with me.  First there was my wife Carolyn, then Hillary, and now Palin.  I guess I am attracted to strong women.  Ha!

2 thoughts on “McCain and Palin are what we really need

  1. Democrats have a puzzle with a code name “Palin Problem”. They have to solve it, and to do it effectively, because the prize is the White House.
    Sarah is everywhere these days. No matter, if there are negative responses, rumors and resentments; or praises, support and encouragements. She filled media, and not only in America. Palinmania is spreading all over the world – everybody has their opinion on the new political celebrity of US.
    The Palin avalanche is winning against Obama inundation. How should Democrats defeat her? Would it be better just keep their line of campaign and ignore populist idol of Republicans? Or should they put out their claws, oppose her and show her the real politics? http://www.votetheday.com/polls/to-defeat-palin-260/ – give advice to Democrats, if you think there still is an effective advice for them…

Leave a Reply

