Hurray for Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin!

Senator John McCain and Gov. Sarah Palin

Senator John McCain and Gov. Sarah Palin

Watching Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin accept John McCain’s VP position this past Friday was a breath of fresh Alaskan air!  Outstanding!  I’ve been studying her bio for about a week before the announcement was made and I kind of predicted to Carolyn (my wife) that she would be picked.

For the first time in my voting life, I will vote Republican as my Presidential choice; however, I’m still going to vote Democratic in the NC governor and senate races. I also want to volunteer for the McCain campaign in my area.  Some of my family and friends are threatened by my decision it seems.  I’m thinking the Democrats are nervous now and some may feel threatened.   When Obama gave his acceptance speech at the Democratic convention, the Obama nation just knew he was on his way into the White House.  However, after McCain announced his VP choice on Friday and the world met Gov. Sarah Palin, a lot of the Obama voters were most likely knocked on their butts.

I wonder what Hillary really thinks?  I saw her speak here in Greensboro and I saw Bill speak in Reidsville.  They both expressed negative views against Obama and told everyone he is not ready to be President.  How can they both turn around in such a short time to say wonderful things about Obama at the convention?  Did they really mean what they said?

I think a lot of the same concerns people have about Palin can be flipped back onto Obama and most likely will in the coming weeks.  I have read Obama’s 2004 convention speech and I watched his acceptance speech (really good by the way).  However, he just hasn’t clicked with me yet.  I never said I am definitely voting for McCain/Palin.  I might be leaning in one direction, but I’m still on the fence.  If Obama is destined to be President, then he will.  It will be fine with me.

You see, I am not a Republican or a Democrat.  I am an Independent.  I just get excited about politics now, especially when we now have a race that will bring out a lot of issues from the candidates.  I like the debate such excitement brings.  I’m excited because, for the first time, we have an African-American and a woman on two major political tickets.  I firmly believe looking at the candidates on both sides, studying them, and then making a final decision after the major debates.

I believe Palin is not a bad person.  I know a lot of gay Americans dislike any Republican and that is not fair. Like Obama, Palin also opposes same-sex marriage.  However, as Governor, she vetoed a bill that would have denied benefits to the partners of gay state employees.

Palin is the most popular Governor in the country Governor right now with an 80% approval rating.  Out of all the candidates currently running, she has actually “ran” something by being mayor of town in Alaska and being Governor for two years.  She also has as much experience as Virginia governor Tim Kaine who was on the top of Obama’s VP list.  I think this is “very” exciting for all women.  Not too long ago, she was just a PTA member who ran for City Council because she believed her town, Wasilla, Alaska, needed more paved roads.  I think that is so cool!

What is not so cool is how now members of the Democratic Party and media are now degrading Palin as a woman.  Last night while watching MSNBC, Democratic Strategist Paul Begala said this in reference to Palin’s past as a runner-up to the Miss Alaska pageant:

“She was very poised today, very well spoken.  It’s clearly the beauty pageant training which I admire”.

Not nice.

Gov. Sarah Palin is not only fresh, but she is a strong women and a fantastic mom!  In addition, she is not only a hockey mom, but she plays hockey!  She also hunts and is an avid outdoors person.  She is just a total bad ass!

Palin is exactly what is needed to make these upcoming debates not only fresh, but a must see event.  Can you image how boring it would have been if McCain chose Romney as his VP?  Ugh.

During the last night of the Democratic convention, Obama drew the line in the sand for McCain to cross.  He basically said, “If John McCain wants to have a debate about who has the temperament and judgment to serve as the next commander-in-chief, that’s a debate I’m ready to have.”  Cool!  I want to see it!  Hopefully, the Presidential and Vice Presidential campaign debates will get folks who don’t care about politics or who blindly vote for someone because they look nice or their campaign is hip to the moment to take notice and actually learn details, watch the news, read a newspaper and cut off the crap that has taken over television.

If it seems I am passionate about all this political stuff it’s because I am.  Being a stay-at-home dad, I have had time to pay more attention to the campaigns and to read and watch what both candidates have to say.  I even went to see Hillary and Bill when they came here to my area.  I think this is really fun!  I’ll try to go see Obama if he swings by here again and I will definitely do my best to see McCain or Palin if they come to Greensboro.

Maybe I missed my calling.  Maybe I should start looking to volunteer for something in my community.  Maybe…

Leave a Reply

